In The Way

The U.S. Embassy, La Embajada

Yesterday we went to visit the US Embassy in Guatemala city.

We met with 4 different people who work in the embassy. 3 were foreign service workers from the states, and the other was a local Guatemalan woman.
They talked for a while about what the foreign service is like including the application process, the perks, and the cons.

They talked a lot about the application process, and particularly how rigorous the process is. They suggested we take the test, if nothing else, than for fun. They said that the process takes 1-2 years.

I learned that, as Dr. Rawson always says, that joining the Peace Corps can often be a way to get ahead in competing in this job field. Altogether, the meeting was interesting.

I learned that most of the chicken served in Pollo Campero Is fed by grain grown by the ever famous company, Mansanto. I also learned that many meat companies are trying to work there way into the market here, which according to my Spanish teacher is a good thing, because there isn’t any good meat sold on the market in Guatemala.

In my opinion, this is because the meat is sold in an open air market that reeks of bacteria, rotting flesh, and lacks refrigerators.

Due to this lack of “carne deliciosa”, I have become mostly vegetarian here. I say mostly because while I often give away my meat during lunch and dinner, it is often served amidst veggies, rice, and other delicious things that I love to eat.

One thing that is really wonderful, but also very unreal here regarding meals and meat is that we are served 3 meals a day for 6 days a week. Compared to normal and real life this is a lot. I typically eat a small and simple breakfast and lunch, and a big dinner.

Here they serve us a delicious and healthy breakfast with fruit, but it is often more than I can eat. This is of course, compared to my normal breakfast of either toast, brownies, cookies, and some fresh juice.

The vegetarian thing here is working out well. I have also tried to quit coffee, which, combined with the coffee, has significantly helped in the traveler’s trots. Or Moctezumas revenge, whatever you would like to call it.

I have one more week of Spanish, and after that I will start volunteering with a microcredit organization tha works k educate women and build capacities for the many impoverished people who live here in Guatemala.

I am excited for this volunteer opportunity.

Stay tuned.

Single Post Navigation

Comment here.

