In The Way

Volcano Fuego Erupts!

This week has been quite a rollercoaster. Which, ironically is a word that I have NO idea how to say in Spanish.

I love blogging. When I returned to Guatemala last weekk,  I wasn´t really sure what I would talk about, since a huge amount of what happened last year was amazing and awesome because it was new. Not many things are new, but everything remains foreign and fascinating.

So many things are happening all of the time here, it is very diffiicult to write about everything that has happened.

Yesterday morning, as is my custom when leaving the house in the morning for La Union, I walked to the end of the block to view Volcano Fuego. This is the opposite direction as the Spanish school, but is often the only time during the day that has a clean view of the volcano. I snapped a few photos on the way to school because I noticed it was erupting more than usual. In fact, more than I had ever seen before.
During my Spanish Class I asked my teacher if he had seen it erupt and he said yes, but very casually. Erupting volcanoes are a norm for locals, apparently. This goes for earthquakes, too, as I learned from last year. Whatever the natural phenomenon is, Guatemalans have seen it all.

Earthquakes? Check.

Volcanic Eruptions? Check.

Tornadoes? Check.

Hurricanes? Check.

Sinkholes? Check.

Tornadoes? Yep.

Mudslides? Of course.

So, the locals are used to these sorts of things. Us “extranjeros” on the other hand, we love watching volcanoes.

Apparently Volcano Fuego, or Fuego, as people refer to it here, was just getting warmed up, because about one hour later, it erupted in an incredible fashion.

Here is a photo that I took early in the morning, around 7:45 AM:

During the much bigger eruption:

Here is a photo from ibtimes.com

Yeah. Seriously awesome.

Each Spanish class we get a 25-30 minute break around 10, which was an opportunity we all took to view the volcano. We decided then and there that we should watch it later that night on Valerie and Libby´s roof. So, we did.

It was beautiful. Lava flowed, and exploded into the air. The sky glowed (is that a regular past tense verb, or irregular?), and there were lightning storms surrounding the volcano where the smoke fell. So incredible. It was the best lightning storm I have ever seen, and the best volcanic eruption I will ever seen.What an opportunity of a lifetime. So amazing.

Here´s a picture so that you can imagine what it looked like from Valerie, Libby, and Clarissa´s roof last night. It was something like this. Photo courtesy of http://www.flickriver.com/photos/garliclabs/

Finally, here is a link to a video, if interested. Very cool. http://gu.com/p/3adn3

Thanks for reading.

I am studying Spanish and am here under the Gilman Scholarship. For more information visit http://www.iie.org/en/Programs/Gilman-Scholarship-Program

 

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Volcano Fuego Erupts!

  1. Amazing!!! Is it freaky? Like, is anyone thinking evacuation? Or is it no big deal, even with all the lava? Good pictures — great blog … thanks for keeping us updated!

  2. Linda Rhyne on said:

    Destruction can also be so beautiful. The picture was great.

  3. The video addresses the evacuations.

  4. I will right away grasp your rss as I can’t find your email subscription link or newsletter service. Do you’ve any?
    Please let me realize so that I could subscribe. Thanks.

Comment here.

