In The Way

A Fat Stack of Cheerios

This is another journal entry. This is for my Core 300 class of Chrstianity and Spiritual Disciplines at Spring Arbor University. My professor, Helen Edwards, reads this. This is a confession of my transgressions in class today.

Enjoy.

Journal 2012.1.11

Being distracted is easy. Today was one of those days where, thinking back on it, I was quite distracted.

It started off this morning when I didn’t wake up to my alarm clock. I’m trying this new thing where I actually get up early in the morning to have a morning routine, have some quiet time, and do things like shower, eat, drink water, read, listen to music, and maybe even exercise. I’ve done all but exercise in the morning so far, but this morning I messed up. I slept in almost 2 hours past when I intended to wake up.

It’s easy to come up with excuses, like how it doesn’t even get light until 8 am and I have my alarm set for 7:15. Or that I stayed up late doing homework and had a hard time sleeping because I was thinking about more homework I needed to complete. But those don’t matter. I messed up.

I’ve been talking to a lot of guys on campus, and this is one of the commonalities it seems like we all struggle with. Well, one of them. We struggle to go to bed early and wake up early. It is just so hard.

Some of us play video games, others watch the Office. Some of us play Dominion and Settlers of Catan while others watch the Colbert Report. Some of us procrastinate and do homework, while others go out for late night Taco Bell runs.

Whatever it is, being distracted is easy. It’s hard to stay on task.

I have a confession.

In class today I allowed myself to be distracted by a game my friend Jon Walden and I play. We haven’t named the game, but maybe it would be called something like, “Stack the snack”. It involves taking whatever object we have and trying to stack it as high as we can. Today it involved Honey Nut Cheerios. Yesterday it was Mentos, but as I spent roughly 30 minutes out of our 3-hour long class stacking these Cheerios I managed to stack 11 of them.

I know, I know. I was proud of myself, but after knocking them down for the fifth time I looked up and noticed our teacher.

Talking. And I had NOT been listening.For that, I am sorry.

I should have been giving you my full attention and not allowing these Honey Nut Cheerios distract me from what is going on in class. I keep writing about God’s calling and the kingdom of heaven coming on earth, and right now, I am a student, and God wants me to be the best student I can be. If I’m not paying attention in class, I’m disobeying God.
I’m sorry.

I’m not particularly remorseful, as I don’t feel like I particularly hurt anyone in this learning process, but I recognize that it is a distraction and I am determined to not let it happen again. Stacking Cheerios, at the wrong time can be just like playing Angry Birds.

And nobody wants an Angry Birds addict in their classroom.

It won’t happen again tomorrow.

Single Post Navigation

Comment here.

