In The Way

Five Iron Frenzy Is Alive!

I can’t believe this.

Five Iron Frenzy is back.  That’s right, that ska-toting, trumpet-blasting, annoying band from the early 2000’s is going on tour again. And I am excited. A little too excited, actually. Embarrassingly excited.

I mean seriously, guys. This is more unlikely than a worldwide movement joining together to fight poverty and global inequality.

But also, a ska band was the first band that I was ever in. We played “Every New Day Again” at Battle of the Bands my Freshman year in high school. That kind of rowdy activity has a long-lasting impact on kids like us.

I still get chills listening to this song.

Here are the lyrics at the climax of the song:

“Healing hands of God have mercy on our unclean souls once again.

Jesus Christ, light of the world burning bright within our heartsforever.

Freedom means love without condition, without a beginning or an end.

Here’s my heart, let it be forever Your’s,

Only You can make every new day seem so new.”

These are the kinds of words that bring you out of teenage angst and into learning how to change the world in Guatemala.

In less than an hour of posting to their Kickstarter page they had fulfilled their goal of $30,000 to record a new CD, with money left over for a potential tour.

Perhaps the goal was met before fans had even finished watching this 8 minute long video on the kickstarter page.

I mean, I’ll admit it, I’m not the biggest Five Iron Frenzy fan. I have never used the frenzyboard, I have never seen them live in concert, and I have never put one of their patches on my backpack. But this is shocking.

I had come to accept the reality that Ska was dead. I was one of the many who discovered the band right around they split up, when my friend Marcus told me that he was going to their farewell tour. I remember because I had never seen a FIF shirt in church on a Sunday morning before. I had come to accept that Reese would never put the man back in mayonnaise and that under no circumstance would they return.

This wasn’t what I was expecting when I came home tonight. I was expecting to start writing a blog post on recording running a half-marathon up a Volcano. But that will come next, I promise.

Right now I am stuck believing the unbelievable. That the unseen, FIF, will be seen.

I know many a fan who came to love FIF after they were broken up, and now, these fans have jobs, families, and most importantly, money. This could be like Black Sabbath returning on a tour, except with middle-class-ex-punk-ska-now-hipsters.

And I for one, will be skanking. 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Five Iron Frenzy Is Alive!

  1. Pingback: SOPA or PIPA « Living In The Way

  2. Pingback: SOPA and PIPA, Protection? | saupulse.com

Comment here.

