In The Way

49 Days

There are 49 days until the beginning of this summer adventure. There are 39 until Friday the 13th, the last day of Spring Semester. That night we will be seeing the people who perhaps first gave me this idea, Lost and Found.

I’ve had the idea for years, at least since 2007. I don’t know if it was stumbleupon that put the thought in my head, or Lost and Found at IYC 2007, where Ron Kopicko was the main speaker, or the ever seeking desire inside me to do something awesome, but something sparked my interest. It’s been years, literally.

Our trip from the Atlantic sunrise to the Pacific sunset on two wheels is finally moving forward.

It’s crazy, I admit, but last night, the first financial steps took place. We ordered a bicycle. Sam, Valerie and I crowded around my laptop and pressed the ‘place this order’ button in unison. It has 2 seats and 2 wheels, and cost me about as much as the Macbook Pro. That’s right, ladies and gentleman, we plan to use a tandem bicycle to go from sea to shining sea. Here is a picture!

It is on the way right now. My heart is racing from just looking at the tracking number on Fed-Ex. I don’t think this is the excitement of materialism, I think it’s the excitement that one of my biggest dreams is in motion.

The trip will last 3,600 miles,

We will cross 14 states, and 1 province,

There will be 80 days of riding, plus Sabbaths of rest,

1 bicycle,

1 adventure of a lifetime that is priceless.

This is quite the undertaking. To say I’m more excited is a pretty serious understatement. This will be, by far, the craziest thing I have ever done.

Along with the bicycle, I ordered some gear on the REI website. All of these should be here later this week.

I know what you’re thinking, about the tandem bicycle, that is.

First of all, you’re thinking that this is the cutest thing that you’ve ever seen. And you’re probably right. It is. But, that’s not why we’re doing it on tandem. Really.

The tandem was not a predicted part of the original idea. I was simply looking at touring bicycles online and saw a 2-seat-2-wheel contraption. After long discussions with Pilgrim, my roommate who completed the coast to coast trip in 2009, he informed me that if he had his way, he would totally take a tandem. I presented the idea to Valerie, and her face lit up.

We checked them out online, and after extensive discussion, we decided to go tandem.

It’s not really that we wanted to necessarily. It’s that we had to. In our options of two individual bikes or a tandem, the tandem was irresistible. We had to do it, otherwise we would regret it. It’s this kind of impulse that causes me to get things that have funny names at restaurants, even if I don’t necessarily like the sound of the food. It’s not that I want it, it’s that there is no other option. Impulsive? Perhaps. Unbelievable? Yeah. But incredible? Absolutely. At least I recognize the preposterousness of riding a tandem bicycle over two major mountain ranges for 3,600 miles. I am sure, though, that it will be incredible.

Our current route is as follows:

Now, this route isn’t detailed. Perhaps that will come soon. But we’ve got some significant landmarks and people to see along the way. But we’ll talk about that later.

There are two major legs of the trip. The first, until the end of June, will take us from Maine to Michigan, through Canada. We are planning on stopping at Cornerstone Music Festival, then continuing on out west. The first leg we are expecting to average about 40-50 miles a day. The second leg will be 60-80 miles a day.

I intend to keep as detailed a blog as possible, with pictures, and other forms of media.

As for Valerie and I? We are very, very excited.

This is bound to be an unforgettable summer, and it will, without a doubt, be an incredible story.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “49 Days

  1. Man, this is crazy. You two are going to have the best time of your freakin’ lives! I can’t wait to see the updates while you’re on the road!

  2. Valerie Sartor on said:

    Very, very excited!

Comment here.

